Week in the Life: Saturday

I’m doing daily posts this week as part of Week In The Life, a scrapbooking project spearheaded by Ali Edwards. Other days of the project can be found here: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, FridaySunday.

Oh how I love Saturdays. I love them so hard. Despite the fact that I am quite happy getting up at 3:15 every weekday to do what I do, Saturday means no alarm clock and the ability to hang out with my guys first thing. I’m usually well rested from Friday night, I know I don’t have to go to bed right at 8, we often do things like make pancakes or go to brunch or go to street fairs or run errands all together, and it’s just generally a party.

DSC_6104

6:48am | Up and making coffee. Malcolm and I wake up about the same time, when there’s no alarm set.

DSC_6106

6:48am |  Pajamas. I love how straight he sits up. Babies have such good posture.

DSC_6114

7:35am | Still drinking coffee. I remember being concerned that if I drank coffee it would make Malcolm jittery; it doesn’t. Not a couple cups a day, in any case. I’m told if it doesn’t have a noticeable effect on him, it’s fine. Yays.

DSC_6116

7:54am | 10-second self-timer shot that worked out extremely well. Peter was washing dishes– he had seen me set up the camera, I wasn’t very stealthy about it but I didn’t tell him what I was doing. I love Malcolm looking at the camera like, “They do this all the time.”

DSC_6120

8:04am | Getting pretty sleepy. Time for a nap soon.

DSC_6122

8:30am | M naps, we eat pancakes. Neither of us are gluten free, but Pamela’s gluten free flour makes fantastic pancakes.

DSC_6126

10:34am | Occasionally I wash M’s toys.

DSC_6135 DSC_6145

1:52 | Back at it, after a trip to Home Depot and Target. I like that both M and P are sitting on the floor playing with stuff. (Peter is setting up a new lamp.)

DSC_6149

DSC_6159

DSC_6162

DSC_6173

2:40pm | Photoshoot time. I tell P I’m grateful that he has been a good sport about having a camera in his face all week. In the photo above I imagine M thinking “I’m stuck with such geeky parents.”

DSC_6175

2:53pm | This meme has been everywhere this week. I couldn’t resist.

DSC_6182

5:16pm | Finally hanging some photos on the wall. One of those ten-minute projects that has been sitting on the to-do list for ages.

DSC_6184

7:14pm | Late dinner. Both of us pretty smitten with the little guy.

DSC_6214

7:35pm | Bedtime stories. Messy room, messy photograph– yep, that’s a bag of dirty diapers in the corner– but whatever. This is one of my favorite parts of the day, when we’re winding M down and we all lie down on the floor in his room and read him a couple of books. I know everything changes all the time but I’m hoping this little ritual will stick around for a while.

Leave a Reply

