Homemade Body Butter

For the most part, I’ve gone all-out hippie on the body products and detergents I use. Partly because it’s better for me, and partly because Malcolm puts everything into his mouth and I don’t really want him sucking on my shoulder if it’s covered in toxic chemicals. My dad occasionally reads this blog so I feel compelled to assure you that I understand that just because an ingredient is unpronounceable doesn’t mean it’s toxic (shea butter can also be called Butyrospermum Parkii), but when a product that I’m putting on my skin lists twenty five unpronounceable ingredients, there might be something in there that’s not edible. I prefer to use lotions and whatnot with just a few ingredients.

The fewer ingredients a product has, though, the more expensive it is. Or at least it seems so? I saw a 3-oz jar of body butter at Target (I know) from some brand I forget that boasted three ingredients on the front in type larger than the logo, and it cost $35. I think it was coconut oil, shea butter and olive oil. So natural you could make it in your kitchen! So, um, why don’t I?

I found a couple different recipes for body butter (via a quick google) and did a little mixing. Ended up with something I really like. The first version had shea butter, coconut oil, sweet almond oil and a few drops of Mental Clarity essential oil to scent it. After trying it, I decided it needed something to make it less melty and oily, and added some corn starch. Voila! Smooth, soaks in well, smells like a candy cane, and edible. (I mean, don’t eat it by the spoonful, but if a baby licks your arm he’ll be ok.)

Two parts shea butter
One part coconut oil
One part sweet almond oil
Corn starch (I used about two teaspoons for about four ounces)
Essential Oil

Melt the shea butter, coconut oil and almond oil in a double boiler. (Or a thick glass measuring cup in a pan of water on the stove.) Mix the corn starch with a tiny bit of this oil mixture first, then add everything together (to avoid lumps). Stir in essential oil. Put in fridge. Enjoy!

DSC_5327

 

Yes, that’s tea tree oil in the photo and not the Mental Clarity that I used. I grabbed the wrong one when I was gathering the ingredients for a photo and didn’t realize it until just now. One could make a joke about not having enough mental clarity…

I used a couple of different sites as a resource:
Vanilla Bean Body Butter
How To Make Healthy Body Butter
How To Make Whipped Body Butters

Leave a Reply

