The baby book!

Ok, so I thought I loved using Project Life to create photo albums (erm…. scrapbooks) before Malcolm came along– I am about to go full-on evangelist about this shit. I’m using the physical products (as opposed to doing it digitally, which lately I’ve been doing with my regular week-by-week album) to make his baby book, and I am pleased as punch about the result. It’s just photos in pockets along with journaling cards, but how cool is it going to be to look back on this in twenty years? (or two months… whatever…)

This is what I’m doing. I have the 3×4 journal cards in a little box with a pen, and every time there’s something new, or something I want to remember, I grab one and write it down. I’m usually writing it to Malcolm, as in “Today you ate sweet potatoes for the first time” but there are a few cards where I forgot and wrote in the third person and I care not at all. And then at the end of the month, I count how many 4×6 and 3×4 photos I need to fill the empty slots after the journaling cards go in (I’m doing about eight pages per month), choose that number of photos, order them from Persnickety Prints, and slip them in once they arrive. I’ll generally try to put photos that go with the cards, as in a photo of him eating sweet potatoes will go next to that card, but if it doesn’t work out that way again, I’m not worried. It’s really nice to have a record of all of this stuff. Even better is being completely caught up on it all the time. I can imagine how people get stressed out because five years later they haven’t yet finished the baby book… you wouldn’t think that’s a thing, but it is totally a thing. Which sort of speaks to this cultural assumption that moms are solely responsible for the documentation of their children’s lives, as well as the planning of Pinterest-worthy birthday parties and Instagram-worthy nurseries, but I digress. For whatever reason, I really enjoy putting together these albums. What ya do?

DSC_4973 DSC_4975

Leave a Reply

