Project Life: March

I wrote about coming out of the scrapbooking closet last January but haven’t posted anything about it since, so I figured it was time. I’ve kept up with my albums now for a little over two years, and I really love them. It’s such a great way to keep photos manageable; I take so many (just ask my 15-week-old, who basically says “Cheese!” when the camera comes out, and my dad, whose DSLR I’ve been “borrowing” for the last month)  that if I didn’t print the good ones and put them in some sort of order then they would be lost in file folders helpfully titled “Photos” on my computer. Print ’em out, I say, and then you have this concise (well, sort of) record of the year.

In 2013 and most of 2014, I did this all physically– printed out 4×6 and 3×4 photos and put them into photo pocket pages along with journaling cards. Towards the end of 2014 I switched over to making spreads digitally using the Project Life App. It’s quite a bit faster, and printing out the 12x12s is actually not much more expensive than it would be to print all 4x6s. Even though I have a slight preference for the way I used to do it, mainly because I like having my handwriting in there rather than typed out journaling, the time saved makes it worth it to me to do it this way. Perhaps I’ll go back to the other way once I have more time on my hands. (Wait, does that ever happen?) Anyway, here are the last few weeks:

IMG_9199

IMG_9198week102015

week11

4 thoughts on “Project Life: March

    1. Ellie Post author

      OMG Liz you have no idea. If you ever want to go down a rabbit hole check out beckyhiggins.com. She created Project Life and she’s kiiind of a big deal in the scrapbooking world. (And the fact that I just wrote that sentence means that I need to go rebuild my street cred. How do I do that?)

      Reply
  1. julia

    good for you! i have been so behind on photo albums the past few (ten?) years! i vow to make one of ethan’s first year before he turns two. gotta start printing those photos because yeah, those computer folders called “photos” are lame!

    Reply
    1. Ellie Post author

      Ha! Yeah, why do I do that? Couldn’t I at least label it “photos 2014” or something? Narrow it down?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

