Books: February

It’s been a month since I’ve written a blog post. Oops. There has been a lot going on here, which I will write about soon, but for now, books. I’d like to do this monthly, write little blurbs about the books I’ve been reading– maybe it’ll encourage me to keep reading often when I get home from India. (which is on Tuesday!)

The Girl with the Flammable Skirt (Aimee Bender)
A few months ago I read two of Bender’s books, a novel called The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake and a collection of short stories, The Color Master. I loved both of them. Her writing reminds me of Murakami a bit, or his of hers, what with fantastical elements (being able to taste the feelings of people who made your food, for example) presented as commonplace. This collection of short stories did not strike me as much as the others, but was still a really enjoyable quick read. I’d probably recommend starting with the other two books first.

The Dalai Lama’s Cat (David Michie)
Kind of predictable, but also pretty sweet story told from the point of view of a stray cat that the Dalai Lama has adopted. Cats have a lot to learn about enlightenment too, as it turns out.

Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn)
Oh god this book. Fascinating characters that will impress you and make you sick. A couple of plot twists I did not see coming. Go read it. And then be super thankful that you are not one of the characters in this book.

In the Woods (Tana French)
A detective story involving the murder of a child and possible connections to the past. It took me a couple tries to actually want to read past the first few pages, but once I was 50 pages in or so, I was hooked. It’s the first book in a series; I’ll probably look for the next one pretty soon.

Next up: I’m about halfway through Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, and I have The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling on deck. Good airplane reading, hopefully.

Below, the view from my bed, where I do most of my reading these days.

20140301-110057.jpg

One thought on “Books: February

Leave a Reply

