Fall Survival Tips

20131022-104607.jpg

My plan is to full-on embrace the cold weather from here on out. I’ve tended to fall into the complaining camp when it comes to winter– more than one friend has told me that I’m a lot more fun in the summer– but I figure now that I’ve put down roots here in Minnesota, it’s time to dig in and figure out how to enjoy the eff out of sub-freezing temperatures.

(It should be easy this year, as I’ll be missing two-ish months of the winter while I’m in India, so really, I have nothing to complain about.)

Here’s my plan:

1. Squash. I don’t eat enough squash! And there are so many varieties to choose from. Nothing says enjoying the fall like roasted — or baked– (what’s the difference? I don’t know) squash. Peter got this one from the store last night, perhaps we’ll cook it tonight. A quick Google search told me that it is Festival Squash. That sounds fun!

20131022-110110.jpg

2. Dress warmly. It sounds like a given, but I’m also the one who didn’t own a real winter coat until that last winter in Chicago– for six years I wore a windbreaker, basically, and I wondered why I was so desperate to move to California. I have a coat now, yes, but also a pesky habit of wearing yoga pants everywhere. Moisture-wicking and breathable does not a warm pant make, friends. I just ordered these flannel lined jeans and am planning on keeping them on my body until January.

3. Be outside more. It sounds sooorrrt of counter-intuitive, but bear with me. If the only times I’m outdoors in the winter involve cars (scraping off, walking to and from parking lots, etc), then I’ll naturally associate winter with horribleness. But if I can get outside and do stuff– sledding, campfires, ice skating– then it can’t be all bad, right?

And yes, I know I’m conflating fall and winter things here a little bit– but my winter lasts from, well, now until January 6, so fall, winter, same-same.

Leave a Reply

